The latest news & updates from the Silver Ferns

Competing nations announced for GC2018 Netball competition

The 12 nations to qualify for next year’s Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games (GC2018) Netball competition has been confirmed by the International Netball Federation (INF) World Ranking.

The usual suspects include New Zealand, Australia, England and Jamaica as well newcomers Uganda who have qualified for their first Commonwealth Games after jumping to 9th in the recent INF World Ranking List after winning this year’s Africa Netball Cup.

The top-12 ranked teams to qualify for the GC2018 Netball Competition are as follows:

1 – Australia

2 – New Zealand

3 – England

4 – Jamaica

5 – South Africa

6 – Malawi

7 – Fiji

8 – Wales

9 – Uganda

10 – Northern Ireland

11 – Barbados

12 – Scotland

For GOLDOC Chairman Peter Beattie, the popularity of Netball has been reaffirmed with the strong public demand for tickets for both preliminaries and finals.

“Today’s official confirmation of the competing nations further strengthens our belief that spectators will witness an outstanding level of competition during the GC2018 netball competition,” he said.

“It will have the classic rivalries such as Australia and New Zealand as well as rising nations such as Malawi and Uganda, who we know will capture the imagination of the public.”

The official draw for the GC2018 Netball competition is set to be held on the Gold Coast in the coming weeks.